A Little Bit About Myself

Hello, people of WordPress and beyond. I’d like to officially welcome you to my blog.

My name is Noah Orent. I am a junior/senior at Montclair State University majoring in English. I am also an aspiring writer, an avid reader, a cinema buff and a dog lover.

My older sister Emily graduated from NYU this past summer and my younger sister Carly is in her sophomore year of high school.

For those of you asking why I started this little blog, the main reason is that I wanted to describe my life and how I often struggle.

I was diagnosed with Asperger’s Syndrome when I was four. For those of you who don’t know about Asperger’s Syndrome, it’s an autism-spectrum disorder that – according to the Mayo Clinic – “affects a person’s ability to socialize and communicate…with others.”

Since I didn’t understand what Asperger’s Syndrome was, or how it would affect who I was as a person, I went about my life. I grew up. I started going to school. I became the subject of abuse from my classmates.

It wasn’t until I was older that I learned that some of them had no idea what Asperger’s was. Most people my age, at least the people that I’ve come to know, have also asked me what Asperger’s Syndrome is. But I digress…

In June 2003, when I was nine, my birth mother Gina died at the age of 38. Three years later, my father met – and later married – Amy, a social worker who lost her husband sometime earlier.  We then moved from Bedminster Township to Short Hills and then moved to the nearby town of Millburn so we could be closer to the school system and Downtown Millburn.

BTW: Our town is “famous” for having Anne Hathaway, the Anne Hathaway, graduate from Millburn High School. And I do not mean Shakespeare’s wife. 

After going through the usual three years of middle school and four years of high school, I graduated and started attending Ithaca College in Ithaca, New York.

Ithaca was, to be blunt, a life-changing experience for me. When I say that, I mean in good and bad ways. I don’t want to go into detail, but I’ll just say this…

I made mistakes. I let people down. I lied to the people I love and betrayed their trust.

But I have learned, and am continuing to learn, from my mistakes. I have since transferred to Montclair State, dedicated myself to my schoolwork, and landed an internship at Global Glam Magazine.

That said, I hope this blog shines a light on not just my struggles, but the struggles of those affected by Asperger’s Syndrome or an autism-spectrum disorder.

I will also be talking about both current and past events, posting photographs that I’ve taken and reviews I have written or will write, etcetera, etcetera, etcetera.

So, without further ado…

LET’S GET READY TO RUMBLE!!!!!

Leave a Reply

